the Crow's Nest
the Crow's Nest
I. Steph Clarke and the Teenage Fabric Stash
0:00
-37:17

I. Steph Clarke and the Teenage Fabric Stash

Hello!

Welcome to the first episode of The Crow’s Nest. It’s finally here! I’m not going to lie; it was not easy. I never really thought I’d be seriously making a podcast. I’ve joked about it with friends, and thought about how fun it would be to have someone at my auditory mercy for 40 minutes, but I never thought I’d actually do it.

Even after it became part of my contract for the Guelph Tool Library to design and start this podcast, I didn’t think I’d actually do it. When I was learning all the essentials of interviewing and recording and editing and publishing and advertising and invoicing and procedure writing that’s required when beginning a project like this for a non-profit, and crying the entire time because I had no idea what I was doing, I definitely didn’t think I’d actually do it. But I did, and here it is.

I thought it would be important to start at home. Not everyone knows what a tool library is. In fact, except those really involved in them, most people outside the membership circle tend not to know what a tool library is. And honestly? That’s an incredible shame for them. I can’t imagine going through my life without the support and resources that the GTL (Guelph Tool Library, for those not in the know) has provided me with. I take out thousands and thousands of dollars worth in tools and equipment every year for $40. I attend workshops on building spice racks, foraging, mending my clothes, making sourdough bread, and beeswax wraps. The GTL has been a source of knowledge, entertainment and inspiration for me. I hope I can pass that on to you through The Crow’s Nest.

0 Comments
the Crow's Nest
the Crow's Nest
Run by the Guelph Tool Library. Talking to friends and foes alike on the sharing economy, tiny homes, and zero-waste maximalism.